University of Western Ontario


Western University (commonly known as the University of Western Ontario) is located in London, Ontario, Canada and was founded in on 7 March 1878 by Bishop Isaac Hellmuth as ‘The Western University of London Ontario’. The university opened its doors to students for the first time in 1881 and at inception had 4 faculties of Arts, Divinity, Law and Medicine.

In 1916, the current campus was purchased from the Kingsmill family, and in 1923 the university was renamed The University of Western Ontario.

Since that first class graduated in 1883, the university has become a vibrant centre of learning. Through 12 faculties and three affiliated university colleges, Western today offers its 36,000-plus students more than 400 specializations, majors and minors.

It was at Western where Sir Frederick Banting rose from a restless sleep in 1920 and wrote out 25 words that led to his discovery of insulin.It was at Western where Canada’s first French Immersion program was established at Trois-Pistoles, Québec, in 1932 – a program that continues today. It was at Western where researchers led by Ivan Smith developed the world’s first ‘cobalt bomb’ to treat cancer in 1951.

And while Western’s excellence roots itself in history, Western continues to eye the next-generation of discoveries. Western is a leader in wind engineering since 1965, testing such structures as the World Trade Center, Sears Tower and Jakarta Tower. Western Engineering continues its dominance with the opening of the WindEEE Dome research facility. Western leads at home and abroad thanks to construction of a state-of-the-art Richard Ivey School of Business in 2012. North America’s first business school campus opened in Hong Kong in 1998.

For more information, visit: